Kindle Fire Review

I had pre-ordered the Kindle Fire from Amazon.com and received it yesterday.  First, I want to say thank you to my husband, who, for 2 years now, had been pushing me to get a tablet/pad of some sort.  He insisted that I needed one to show off my photos when talking to people as people are always potential clients or referral sources.  Each time he said something, it convinced me a little more that I might really need one.  And every time some other photographers would whip out their tablet to show me their photos, well, I did kind of want to have one to whip out and show them my photos.

About my Kindle Fire, first, I love the clarity and sharpness of the images.

Second, it works pretty much just like my Droid smartphone, so it was easy to operate immediately.

I did not buy any screen protection yet, and there are fingerprints all over it, more so than on my phone due to the onscreen keyboard.  I will definitely be getting some protection so that I’m not cleaning the screen itself so much, which would increase the risk of abrasion.

I did not have any difficulty with glare, as some reviews mentioned.  I did not try it in sunlight outdoors, but I could easily see it from a variety of angles and had no difficulty with glare.

Another review I saw complained that there is no volume button, but there is volume control on the screen, and it works just fine.

I easily moved photos to the device.  There are several ways to do this; I chose to email the images to myself and then open them on the Kindle.  Easy.

I am already an Amazon Prime member, although it comes with one month of Amazon Prime for free.  I watched one of the instant and free movies to test out the video quality and loved it.  The sound and image were great.  I had absolutely no buffering images; the movie played smoothly all the way through.

I love that there is the option to borrow a book from the library at Amazon.   The book options seem to give me a nice variety of choices, although you may only borrow one book per month.  I do love to read and will be looking at this option soon for filling my time when flying.

So, now when you see me in person and want to know what I’ve been up to photographically and most recently, I can whip out my Kindle and show you my latest images.  It is so much easier than carrying my portfolio around and the images show better on the Kindle than they did on my phone.  Here is one image I did this fall from a maternity shoot that isn’t on my website yet (http://www.changingpoints.com/site/#/portraits/adults/)Maternity Photography: Intimacy.

This entry was posted by Crouse Photography.

Leave a Reply

Overview Bible

Bible study tips and resources

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

DAILY WALKS by Diane Varner

Your favorite photographers!

Trendland - Fashion & Trends Blogzine

Your favorite photographers!

Your favorite photographers!

Your favorite photographers!

Travel Photography Blog

Your favorite photographers!

Momentary Awe

Your favorite photographers!

Intelligent Travel

Cultural, Authentic, Sustainable

The Sartorialist

Your favorite photographers!

Learn Food Photography & Food Styling

Food Photography and Styling Tips

White On Rice Couple

Food Photography, Recipes, Los Angeles Food Photographers - White on Rice Couple

Licking the Plate

Your favorite photographers!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

